February 27, 2017 - President Hrynyk, was pleased to join Minister Eggen as his announcement today, regarding the Minister’s Youth Council.  

Read President Hrynyk's full speech.

funding for private schools

FEBRUARY 23, 2017- The Public School Boards' Association President, Arlene Hrynyk participated in a media event along side a number of Public Education supporters from across Alberta.

Read the full release. 

pspbaa special contribution to public school education awards recognized local individuals & organizations for their contribution to public school education in alberta

OCTOBER 21, 2016 -  There are members in every community that we just can’t help but notice. These are the people and organizations who devote time, resources and their energy to help make our communities a better place for all children.

Read the full release for Dr. Bill Stuebing
Read the full release for Patricia Cocks
Read the full release for Angela Baron
Read the full release for Kevin Berger
Read the full release for Newcap Radio

Association's position regarding public funding for Private and Charter Schools

APRIL 19, 2016 – On April 18, 2016 leader of the PC party, Ric McIver introduced a motion for the Government of Alberta to affirm their support of Private and Charter Schools with tax payer dollars. The Public School Boards’ Association of Alberta has always maintained that tax payer dollars should remain in Alberta’s Public Schools and not support Private and Charter Schools in our province. Our Members have been tireless in their efforts to advocate for a return of all public dollars to our Public Schools. 

Read the full release.

psbaa elects new executive committee

OCTOBER 26, 2015 - Last week, the Members of the Public School Boards’ Association of Alberta (PSBAA) gathered for their Annual General Meeting where they elected a new Executive Committee to lead the Association. This Executive Committee will be responsible for ensuring the Association is fulfilling their commitments to support Public School Education in Alberta. We are pleased to introduce to you the 2016 PSBAA Executive Committee:

Arlene Hrynyk, President, Rick Massini, First Vice President Linda Mywaart, Second Vice President Cathy Hogg, Director Kathleen Linder, Director

Read the full release.